Set up a training server

How to set up a computer for employee training

A training server can be helpful to train employees without having to worry about messing up live data. Just like you set up a server, you can set up a separate computer as a training server. The server you connect to from a client computer is determined by the server name/ip address specified when first opening OrderTrac.

To set up the training server, data from your live server is simply backed up and the restored onto the test server.

Follow these steps to set up a training server:

 

1. Back up your server data

a. Back up the data on your server computer by going to File > Preferences > Backup and click ‘Backup Now’.

b. Navigate in windows explorer to the location listed in the ‘Current Backup location’ textbox. There will be a file there called ordertrac_backup.pg

 

2. Copy data to the training server

a. Copy this file to the computer you want to use as a training computer. You can email it to yourself or use a flash drive to transfer the backup file on the training computer. Place this file on the desktop or any other place you can remember.

b. After the file has been copied to the training computer, open OrderTrac on that computer and select ‘Server Mode’. (The database server software will install if this is the first time selecting Server mode on this computer. Restart OrderTrac after it is complete)

c. OrderTrac will open but you will not see any data. Navigate to File > Preferences > Backup and select the ‘Restore…’ button.  Click ‘Browse’ to navigate to and select the ordertrac_backup.pg file you copied earlier. Click ‘Open’ and then ‘Restore’.

d. The restore may take a few moments and will notify you once complete. Restart OrderTrac and you will now see you data! This is your training data and any changes made here will NOT reflect on your live server.

 

You can connect client computers to this trainer server just like you do to the live server. To do this, Follow these instructions.

 

WARNING!! 

At this point, both your training server and your live server will have identical data. Be sure all users are connected to the correct server in live situations so no live data is accidentally entered into the training server.